Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List

News / Articles

MMA 2017 Annual Awards

Published on 12/19/2017
MMA UPDATE: MMA Annual Awards
On a bitter cold Saturday, December 2nd, 2017, your Massachusetts Motorcycle Association held its Annual Holiday & Awards Banquet.
As is traditional, the Banquet was preceded by our MMA Board Meeting, which is always open to anyone to attend, especially members in good standing. Always well attended, the meeting also saw the seating of John Pecora, former District 1 Manager, to his new seat as Ex Officio, Kevin Raiche, who was elected to District 1 Manager at our annual meeting in October, and Laurie Horn as Raffle Coordinator, added to her role as Merchandise Manager.
The Holiday Party was held at the Holiday Inn in Marlborough, Massachusetts, which always throws out the Red Carpet for your MMA. With entertainment from XRB, back by popular request, the highlights are always the games, and the awards.
This year, a number of awards were presented by MMA Chairman Dave Condon, representing a significant milestone for the organization.
3 “Retirement Clock” Plaques were presented this year – a nod to each recipient as a thank-you for their time, as well as a reminder to return at some time in the future. It takes a lot of dedication, devotion, and of course, time, to serve others, and this is a humble reminder of that appreciation.
The first plaque was presented toMartha Sherman for her decade of dedication to our movement as our Raffle Ticket Coordinator. Martha diligently managed the distribution and accounting for all 2,500 Raffle Tickets every year – no small task – which she did with unbelievable accuracy and a smile.
The second plaque was presented toRick Gleason, who retired at our annual meeting this past October. Rick has served well over a decade – first with ABATE of Massachusetts, through its merger with the Modified Motorcycle Association into your Massachusetts Motorcycle Association. Rick held numerous roles including District 2 Manager and most recently your Legislative Director for most of the past 8 years as well as the Treasurer of the Mass Motorcycle PAC. Rick has worked diligently to oversee our MMA Legislative Agenda, organize our annual MMA “Storm the State House” run, and track bills in favor of as well as against the benefit of the motorcyclists of Massachusetts!
The third plaque was presented to John Pecora, who retired as District 1 Manager at our annual meeting in October. John has also served in numerous capacities over several decades with your MMA including County and District Representative, and most recently District 1 Manager. Working tirelessly to support your MMA at numerous events, John also oversaw the operation of about half of our Bike Raffle events, assuring they were staffed and the Raffle Bike delivered to the venue. Additionally, John attended numerous meetings of riders’ organizations, as well as hearings on issues, warrants, and bills around the Commonwealth. In addition to the plaque, John was also elevated to a role of Ex Officio, joining past Chairman Kevin Griffin as a special advisor to the MMA Board and Executive Committee.
Lou Papilewas awarded a MMA Lifetime Membership for his continued service to your Massachusetts Motorcycle Association. Lou served in the past as District 3 Manager, and has also volunteered at numerous MMA events, including the MMA Fall Roundup, and the annual Holiday Events, donating his time and personal expertise in various capacities. Lou’s business, Engraveables, Inc., is also a MMA Gold Card Sponsor.
TheDirty Pigs Social Cluband theHawg Haulers were each awarded for theirOutstanding Achievement in support of the MMA. Both organizations are regular participants at the annual MMA State Party, the Fall Round Up. Each has not only attended, but made significant contributions in volunteer energy, such as cleanup after the event, helping to make the facilities better than we found them, cutting and stacking wood for the evening fires, and even assisting in securing the new venue this past year.
This year’s Chairman’s Cup was awarded toMike Boynton, a long-time MMA Member and volunteer. Mike is also a tireless volunteer at the Fall Roundup, contributing heavily to its success year-after-year.
Rocco Libertine, MMA District 4 Manager, was recognized for hisOutstanding Achievement by a Board Member. Rocco has been tireless in his engagement this past year, representing your MMA at various venues and events, almost every weekend – sometimes 2 or 3 in the same weekend – and some in support of other MMA Districts! Rocco continues to set a high standard for the term, "Volunteer!"

MMA 2017 Award Recipients
Your 2017 Massachusetts Motorcycle Association Award Winners

Your Massachusetts Motorcycle Association’s most prestigious award is the Brian Clark Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is presented to someone who continuously gives of themselves, while representing the best that your MMA has to offer in terms of character, vigilance, dedication, and commitment. The award is named after Brian Clark, deceased MMA District 4 Manager, who exuded those traits. Bruce Arsenault served your MMA with distinction as District 4 Representative under Brian’s watch, and after some time off following Brian’s passing, returned as your Hampden County Representative in District 4, where he’s continued to serve for the past several years,driving the betterment of not only your MMA, but making our Commonwealth a better place for all motorcyclists.

Bruce Arsenault 2017 MMA Lifetime Achievement Award
Bruce Arsenault (right), receives his
MMA Brian Clark Lifetime Achievement Award

Your Massachusetts Motorcycle Association extends its congratulations and gratitude to all our recipients this year.
For more information, contact, or see

©2017 Massachusetts Motorcycle Association
Have you renewed your Massachusetts Motorcycle Association Membership?
MMA 2018 Raffle Bike Tickets are Available ONLINE!
A strict limit of 2,500 will be sold! 
Click Here to Purchase Yours!
Support your MMA Gold Card Sponsors! They support you!
Why not support the MMA with AmazonSmile?
Click here or go to today!